The Grimsby Town FC


Upcoming Fixtures

Sun 23/07
Danish Superliga
Aalborg v SonderjyskE
Swedish Allsvenskan
Djurgardens v Ostersunds FK
Scottish League Cup
Dundee Utd v Cowdenbeath
Swiss Super League
FC Luzern v FC Lugano
Grasshoppers v FC Zurich
Thun v FC Sion
Danish Superliga
Nordsjaelland v Brondby
Brazil Campeonato
Santos v Bahia
Austria Bundesliga
SC Rheindorf Altach v Austria Vienna
Finnish Veikkausliiga
HJK Helsinki v PS Kemi
RoPS Rovaniemi v SJK
VPS Vaasa v JJK Jyvaskyla
Swedish Allsvenskan
IFK Goteborg v Orebro SK
Kalmar FF v AFC United
Danish Superliga
FC Midtjylland v Silkeborg

Full Fixture List

Question of the Week

Is the squad strong enough to challenge for promotion?

Strong yes
Weak yes
Weak no
Strong no

That Winning Feeling
That Winning Feeling

The Elusive First Win

By: Rob Sedgwick
Date: 07/12/2009

NEIL Woods will have to wait longer than any other Town boss in the club's history for his first win. More than half Town's previous managers have picked up the elusive first win in their first two games. Woods has currently been in charge for nine games but has yet to see the Mariners emerge as victors.

Woods's predecessor Mike Newell did have the worst record of any Town boss. His first win came after 9 games last season - an away win at Bury. Prior to that Alan Buckley III had to wait 4 games.

The last manager to win their first game in charge was Graham Rodger, when Town beat Boston 3-2 in the first game of the season in 2006.

Other recent managers to win their first game are Paul Groves, Brian Laws, Mike Lyons, Dave Booth and George Kerr.

The table below shows the complete record of Town bosses, and in which game their first win occurred.

ManagerFirst winYear
Frank Womack11932
Charlie Spencer11937
Allenby Chilton11955
Bill Harvey11968
Lawrie McMenemy11971
George Kerr11979
David Booth11982
Mike Lyons11985
Brian Laws11994
Paul Groves12001
Graham Rodger12006
Wilf Gillow21924
Billy Walsh21954
Tim Ward21960
Don McEvoy21967
Ron Ashman21973
Bobby Roberts21987
H N Hickson31902
Bill Shankly31951
Tom Johnston31962
Alan Buckley I31988
Kenny Swain31996
Lennie Lawrence32000
Russell Slade32004
George Fraser41921
Alan Buckley II41997
Alan Buckley III42006
Jimmy McGuigan51964
Bobby Kennedy51969
Johnny Newman51976
Tom Casey61975
Nicky Law62004
Mike Newell92008
Neil Woods10+2009

Add To Facebook

This site is by the fans, for the fans, and we will consider articles on any subject relating to the Mariners whether it be related to current news, a nostalgic look back in the past, a story about a player, a game or games in the past, something about Blundell Park or football in general. Click here to submit your article!

Related Stories

Forum Latest
TitlePostsLatest Post
Why I hate the Premier League24immariner23/07 11:41
Word Association Game41,447topuphere66623/07 11:34
Change/add-a-letter/remove-one Word Game thread...28,402Biccys23/07 11:32
Other Clubs Transfer News260promotion plaice23/07 11:32
Jack Keeble9Oly198723/07 11:12
Another Arry16Black_and_White_Bear23/07 10:58
Does anyone play board games?19Sigone23/07 10:32
Boston - Saturday48Youngy23/07 09:07
Tyler walker4Jarmo.Is.God23/07 07:39
Ex-GTFC players thread2,096Tommy23/07 06:18

News  | Features  | Submit Article  |   | 
© 2017