Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
Fishy Forum Fishy Boards Classic Threads › Who have you met, and where?
Moderators: Moderator
Users Browsing Forum
No Members and 22 Guests

Who have you met, and where?

This thread currently has 20,744 views. Print
14 Pages Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next All Recommend Thread
TonySmith
March 20, 2020, 4:02pm

Snakebite drinker
Posts Per Day: 0.08
Rep Score: +4 / -1
Approval: +968
Gold Stars: 11
  I was a teacher in Huddersfield in the '80's ,and I was out drinking with some teacher friends one night in, I think, early 1987 , when who should walk in but Mike Lyons and Phil Bonnyman! They sat in a corner minding their own business while I made the mistake of pointing them out to my friends. I would have left it there, but of course one of my buddies who had  had a pint or three had to go over to them and say, quite loudly, " Our friend's a Grimsby fan." Surprisingly, they invited me over and we chatted for 10 or 15 minutes. They had been to watch a reserve game at Leeds Road and had popped in for a pint before getting back on the motorway.
  I am well aware of Lyons' reputation amongst Town fans, but I have to say they were both very friendly and welcoming to me that night and willing to chat about the club, recent matches, and other players.I kept my opinion about Mike playing himself as a striker to myself, which is probably just as well, but I have very fond memories of that evening.
Logged Offline
Private Message
Reply: 50 - 133
March 20, 2020, 4:04pm
Guest User
Pre-John Player cricket in the early 60's I went to watch a match at Ross Sports ground. The match was between the Cricketing Cavaliers and a Lincolnshire side. Godfrey Evens played I was introduced to a young West Indian cricket who was proclaimed to be a future West Indian captain and great. His name Clive Lloyd.